Mountain Rock Treks & Expedition

Spirit of the Himalaya


Tibet Information

Map of Tibet Autonomous Region lies in the southwest of China and in the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau. It is bound to the north by Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region and Qinghai Province, to the east by Sichuan Province, to the southeast by Yunnan Province and to the south and west by Burma, India, Bhutan, Sikkim and Nepal. The region covers an area of around 1.22 million km2, which accounts for 12.8% of the total of China.

With an average altitude of above 4,000 meters, Tibet Autonomous Region has very complex topography and falls into three geographic parts: the west, the south and the east. The western part, known as the North-Tibet Plateau, lies between Kunlun Mountain and Kangdese Mountain, and Tonglha Mountain and Nyainqentanglha Mountain. This west accounts for two thirds of the total area of Tibet. The southern part of Tibet consists of valleys and lies between the Kangdese Mountains and the Himalayas. The eastern part is mainly made up of canyons and is marked by a gradual decline in altitude intercepted by small ranges called the Henduan.

Tibet at Glance
Official Name: Xizang Zizhiqu

Short form: Xizang

Intl long form: Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR)

Intl short form: Tibet

Capital: Lhasa

Etymological: the name Tibet is derived from the Sanskrit word Trivistapa which means heaven.
Tibetans called their homeland Bod.

Population: 6 million

Languages: Tibetan, Chinese.

National flag: 2 red and blue rays with two snow lions in the lower center

Ethnic Groups: primarily ethnic Tibetans; Menba, Lhoba, Mongols, Hui and a growing number of Han Chinese.

Religions: Tibetan Buddhism, Animism.

Currency: Chinese Yuan Renminbi (CNY)


Tibet Tour

According to Hinduism,one of their three main gods Lord Shiva Resides on top of Mount Kailash, where he sits in a state of meditation along with his wife Parvati,...

read more

Related Category

Quick Enquiry

Partners & Sister Concerns

Aussie Trekking Consultants Hotel florid